Monday Coffee Talk

Normally it’d be “Monday Morning Coffee Talk,” but there was an IKEA trip that happened this weekend, which, of course, means that my latte intake must now e monitored more closely. Maybe I’ll get one this afternoon. 🙂

Either way, this is my first blog post! I’m very excited to begin this journey and have a place where I can document the big stuff and one day look back at all that happened at this point in my life. Which brings me to the “why now?” Why should I start a blog now? It’s not the 90s anymore. However, I am a child of the 90s, so I still love a good blog (ad Lisa Frank stickers!). But more importantly, I’m at that point in life that everyone goes through at some point. I’m asking myself those big questions: can I see myself doing what I’m doing for the rest of my life? Am I doing what I’m meant to do? Am I truly helping or inspiring anyone with what I do? At first, these seemed like childish questions.

But as I finished college and completed a couple of jobs since then, I’ve come to realize that those simple questions that you have when you’re younger (the basic, “what do I want to be when I grow up”) don’t go away just because you’ve found a job you’re good at in a respected field. So, here I am, bringing life back to basic! And it’s here that I’ll ramble on about this journey of mine — a 20-something year old,figuring things out one day at a time.I’ll not only share with you my personal goings-on, but also a couple other loves of my life: graphic design projects that I’m working on, fun recipes, and anything else that might come along worth sharing. But a smart design and a good homemade meal are two staples of life, at least for me.

I saw a gentleman on the street on my walk to work this morning who was holding up a sign that read, “Do more of what makes you happy.” This made my Monday.

So, some things you might need to know to truly understand who I am and where I’m coming from:

  • I grew up in a small town in NJ.
  • I now live in DC, and I love this city’s mix of southern charm and big city living.
  • I miss small town living every time I go home.
  • I did dabble in politics for a bit…it’s a right of passage down here, and it’s leaves you wide-eyed, optimistic, and totally jaded all at the same time. I loved it, but am over it.
  • I am incredibly blessed. I have an amazing family and friends.
  • I’m getting more intense about my work in graphic design and will be sharing some of my projects here.

Stay tuned for some fall fun later this week. *Sigh of happiness for fall*

Leave a Reply

