Living for the Weekend

Grand Central Station

 

1. I, like many other 9-5ers, live for the weekend. I’m unsure if this is a good or bad thing, though. To me, it signifies that I much prefer my home life to work life, which isn’t a bad thing at all. I love spending time at the apartment, running errands, getting to catch up on “real life.” It does make me a bit disappointed, though, that I just no longer have the passion I once did for my job. Too many things to name, but I’m so lucky to have a wonderful place to come home to at the end of the day.

2. Three words: “Quarter. Life. Crisis.” It’s more than obvious that I’m going through one. Job is blergh; struggling with figuring out my place and purpose; so many options, but not knowing which on to choose. I’m telling you your mid-20s are crazy exciting, fun, and completely overwhelming. I thought it was just me, even after commiserating with friends on this subject. But, of course, to solidify my hypothesis, I turn to literature. I don’t want to say it’s a self help book, but I do think I just saved some serious cash by not having to go to a therapist because of this book: 20 Something, 20 Everything. What a wonderful journey into a little self exploration during a really difficult period of life. And it’s sprinkled throughout with stories from different women who are going/have gone through the same thing. I never thought about a woman’s quarter life crisis in terms of a historical perspective, but it’s totally true! Think of all the options 20-something year old women have today that their mother’s just didn’t. No wonder we’re overwhelmed!

3. To escape the craziness of my quarter life crisis, and help my parents clean out their basement (holy Christmas decorations!), I went home for the weekend. I know I’ve posted this before, but I love getting to go home. Think this was my last trip for a while; Amtrak basically owns a share of my paycheck. But did get some time in NYC this trip. I stuffed myself at Guy Fieri’s new place, Guy’s America Bar and Grill in Times Square. For any of you who read that review in the NY Times, give this place a chance. It’s actually pretty good. Just don’t go in thinking it’s fine dining or anything. “Bar and Grill” is right there in the name for goodness sake. But, if you’re looking for a $17 burger, it’s not bad (still sad to be paying $17 for a burger, but I still love you, NYC). And be sure to replace fries with Onion Rings whenever possible. Not only is this a general life rule that should always be followed (unless there are sweet potato fries; then good luck with your decision), but the rings are really good here. They made my meal. Om nom.

4. Thankfully, got to walk dinner off, taking a pit stop view of Grand Central Station (above). My favorite. Was just waiting for a flash mob! Alas.

Leave a Reply

